2011 Rain Retreat

DL 2011-07-23…..01- Sabbasawa Sutta  MN 02 : “ALL THE TAINTS “The Buddha teaches the bhikkhus seven methods of restraining and abandoning the taints (outflowings), the fundamental defilements that maintain bondage to the round of birth and death” [Bikkhu Bodhi].

DL2011-07-29 ….02.  Dhammadayada Sutta MN03: (Heirs to the Dhamma)”The Buddha enjoins the bhikkhus to be heirs in the Dhamma, not heirs in material things.  The venerable Sariputta then continues on the same theme by explaining how disciples should train themselves to become the Buddha’s heirs in the Dhamma” [Bhikkhu Bodhi]. 

DL 2011-08-05….03. Bhayabherava Sutta MN04 (Fear and Dread)”The Buddha describes to a brahmin the qualities requried of a monk who wishes to live alone in the forest.  He then relates an account of his own attempts to conquer fear when striving for enlightenment” [Bhikkhu Bodhi]. 

DL2011-08-13…04-  Anangana Sutta MN 05 (Without Blemishes) “The venerable Sariputta gives a discourse to the bhikkus on the meaning of blemishes, explaining that a bhikkhu becomes blemished when he falls under the sway of evil wishes” [Bhikkhu Bodhi].

DL2011-08-20….05. MN06 Akankheyya Sutta (If A Bhikkhu Should Wish) “The Buddha begins by stressing the importance of virtue as the foundation for a bhikkhu’s training; he then goes on to enumerate the benefits that a bhikkhu can reap by properly fulfilling the training” [Bhikkhu Bodhi]. 

DL2011-08-27….06. MN07 Vatthupama Sutta (Simile Of The Cloth) “With a simple simile the Buddha illustrates the difference between a defiled mind and a pure mind” [Bhikkhu Bodhi].

DL2011-09-03….07.  Sallekha Sutta (The Discourse on Effacement) MN08 “The Buddha rejects the view that the mere attainment of the meditative absorption is effacement and explains how effacement is properly practiced in his teaching” [Bhikkhu Bodhi].

DL2011-09-10…..08 Samma Dhitti Sutta (Right View)”A long and important discourse by the venerable Sariputta, with separate sections on the wholesome and the unwholesome, nutriment, the Four Noble Truths, the twelve factors of dependent origination, and the taints” [Bhikkhu Bodhi].


2011-10-01….09 Mulapariyaya Sutta MN-01_(The Root of All Things) “The Buddha analyses the cognitive processes of four types of individuals – the untaught ordinary person, the disciple in higher training, the arahant and the Tathagata. This is one of the deepest and most difficult suttas in the Pali canon” [Bhikkhu Bodhi].


2011-10-08…..10  Satipatthana Sutta  MN-10 (The Foundations of Mindfulness) “This is one of the fullest and most important suttas by the Buddha dealing with meditation, with particular emphasis on the development of insight.  The Buddha begins by declaring the four foundations of mindfulness to be the direct path for the realisation of Nibbana, and then gives detailed instructions on the four foundations: the contemplation of the body, feelings, mind and mind-objects” [Bhikkhu Bodhi].


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s